Reverb 10 – Day 2

December 2
What do I do each day that does not contribute to my writing – and can I eliminate it?

What I do each day that doesn’t contribute to my writing – let me count the ways. I’m a horrible procrastinator…with everything except stuff at work (and that’s mostly because I constantly have people watching over my shoulder, so in order to get them off my back, I efficiently speed through work). I’ll come home and say I’m going to write something, or sit at lunch and say I’m going to write something, and end up getting caught up in something else that I think is more important at the time. Whether it be a song on my iPod, or a conversation on GChat, I seem to always get distracted by something else when I sit down and think that I want to write something. Another major thing that I deal with is the fact that I have this weird complex where I feel like nothing I write is good enough. I really love writing novels, and really want to publish one one day, but I feel like no one would read it. I know that I have to get more positive if I ever want to be successful in writing, and I’m the only one that can really stop me from putting my mind to it and getting it done. The distraction thing is something I’m really going to have to make a conscious effort to work on. I get so caught up in school and work and attempting to have a social life that I sometimes throw writing to the back burner like it’s not important when I know it is. It needs to have the same level of importance as the rest of the things going on in my life do, because it truly is at the core of who I am. I also have to make a conscious effort to think positively about my writing. I know that I’m the only one that has my story to tell, and I really need to step into that and own it. Unfortunately, I haven’t up until this point, but there’s always time to change and do better. I realize that being able to write is a gift and a privilege, and I need to do what I have to do in order to hone my craft and live up to my gift.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

