Reverb 10 – Day 6

December 6

Prompt: Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

The last thing I made…hmmm…oh! The last thing I actually made was a shadowbox for one of my best friends for her graduation from college. I thought about what to get her for graduation long and hard before I settled on a shadowbox. Anything else I could have gotten for her would have meant a lot to her, but I wanted to add sort of a personal touch to it. I’m always the one that hand writes Christmas cards and puts notes inside of birthday cards, so I wanted to do something on a bigger scale for her for her graduation gift. Surprisingly, I’m a bit more crafty than I originally thought. I thought it was going to be a project that took me a really long time to do, but once I got started, it all seemed to flow really well and really quickly. I went to Michaels in order to get all of the supplies for it, and found wooden letters that spelled out her name, then found little pins that represented what she had done in college. I used a little eighth note to represent music, a baseball bat to represent softball, and I scaled down and printed out some pictures to include in it. I put a picture of her line sisters, her friends from work, our crew, her and her parents, and I also painted the letters in her name orange and blue (since those were her school colors). I’m pretty sure I was more excited about making it than she was about getting it, but I think she really really liked it. Something that I want to make…hmmm…I actually really want to make a scrapbook. That was supposed to be my creative project for the summer after I graduated from college, but of course, I let other things get in the way of it, and it still remains undone. I’ve always documented my life in pictures, and now I want to lay them out and create some sort of theme for them, so that I have something tangible to look back at over the years. I really need to find the time to make this happen, and go print the pictures out at Target or something. 2010 was too great of a year to let it disappear into oblivion without some sort of recognition. 🙂 Maybe I’ll make that my late Christmas gift to myself…hmmm…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment