Reverb 10 – Day 8

December 8 : Beautifully Different

Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different — you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

So I just want to make it known that when I read this prompt, my jaw dropped. Not because it was anything particularly shocking or out of my range of writing, but just because I never really sit back and think about what makes me different from all of the other 6 billion+ people on Earth. I mean, I know the answer to that question is my personality, because I really have yet to meet anyone that’s even remotely close to being like me. I guess that’s really what makes me, me. Novel concept, right? I know that one of the things that I like most about myself is that I tend to work well in a variety of different situations, and with a variety of people. For those people that know me in real life, they know…I hang with a lot of people. Not just because I like having all of these people around all the time (because quite frankly, it can get tiresome sometimes), but because I’m good at it.  I think that’s what sets me apart from a lot of people…I’m genuinely good at getting along with a large number of people, and I don’t think that’s a trait that a lot of people possess. Yeah, I have my core group of friends…who doesn’t? But put me in any number of social settings, and I’m likely to thrive there. I also think that one of the things that lights people up about me is my selflessness. Sometimes, it gets in the way of what I want to do (and yes I know I need to work on that), but for those I care about, they know that if they need me, and I can be of assistance, I have them. Whether it means I lose out on some sleep, or some money, or some sanity for a temporary period of time, if I have it to give, they’ve got it. I feel like that’s rare these days because a lot of times, people look out for themselves first before they look out for others, and I’ve just…never been like that. I have gotten a bit more selfish over time, but I still look out for people. I also think its pretty neat how I can turn my sarcasm on and off…sometimes its a defense mechanism, but I’ve learned lately how to use it to make people laugh. I think what lights people up about me are the same things that light me up about me…I’ve become a lot of fun to be around, and I hope it only gets better from here…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

