Reverb 10 – Day 20

December 20

Prompt: Beyond avoidance. What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?)

There are a couple of things that could go on this list…I was too busy this year to really sit down and write like I wanted to. Yeah, I know I’ve covered this topic a lot, but it is one of the most important things to me. Although you wouldn’t know it by the amount of time I spent not doing it last year… I convinced myself that between looking for a job in the beginning of the year, to finally landing a job in the summer, to switching jobs in the fall, to going to school throughout all that…that I didn’t have the time to write at all. Now I know (and should have known), that I’ll make time to do it if I really want to. And since I really want to, well…I’ll make the time. Between school, and work, and friends, and my responsibilities at home, and trying to have a life, I’ll make the time in 2011 to do it. To answer the bonus for this one, the short answer is yes. This project has gotten me in the habit of writing whenever and however I can. Whether it be on my phone or on my computer or on paper, I really can write wherever I want to if I take the time to do it. Another thing I didn’t do this year that I really wanted to do was get the chance to truly explore my city. Now I will say I went out more in 2010 and did more things in 2010 than I ever had before. From open mics to concerts to dinner in new places to randomly walking around DC, I experienced more this year than I had, and I have my group of friends to thank for that. But what I didn’t do that I wanted to do was get out and meet more people, and see an even larger variety of things. I think part of me was worried I wouldn’t have fun, and scared to be alone. Dumb, right? I also didn’t learn how to go do things on my own this year. I did go out to dinner alone, but I usually had my laptop with me, and in turn, ended up talking to people or working on projects. In 2011, I want to go see some shows alone, go to dinner alone, go to the movies alone, take some trips alone…just be by myself enough and get more secure in my own skin. Hopefully, I’ll get the courage to actually try these things next year…

    • sanen85
    • December 20th, 2010

    I went to the movies alone this year… TWICE. However, I haven’t been able to do it since. I still want to see Harry Potter and nobody wants to go with me, so I’m trying to suck it up and just go.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

