Reverb 10 – Day 29

December 29

Prompt: Defining moment. Describe a defining moment or series of events that has affected your life this year.

One of the defining moments that stands out for me this year was the experience of working at my first full time job. From the interviewing process, to getting the call that I received the job, to actually becoming an employee, and getting integrated into the company was something that began to shape who I was as a person and really shaped a good portion of my year in 2010. I had held jobs before, and even held one office job before the one I got in June, but I had never been a full time employee in a corporate setting before. Some of the lessons that I learned while at my last job have carried over into the new job I’m currently working in, and I’m grateful I got the experience. I think it defined me because it gave me something to get up for everyday, and I hadn’t had that feeling since I was in college. I got the chance to meet and work with some phenomenal people, and some of the connections that I made at the office I was at have already proven to be an invaluable asset to my personal and professional life. I’m a better person having worked there (even though at the time I was there I wanted to run for the hills some days), and I even have moments in my new job where I miss being there and interacting with everyone. Since I was the receptionist, I was in the middle of the office (ironic considering the role I play in a lot of my friends’ lives – but that’s neither here nor there), so I made it my duty to get to know everyone in the office, and speak to everyone not just when they came in the office or were leaving for the day, but as the day went on. I’ve taken that same attitude with me to my new job, and it’s served me well. I think that the experience at my first full time job made me a more well-rounded person, and gave me a consciousness about how projecting a positive or negative attitude can make all of the difference. I miss being there some days, and I hope all of my old coworkers are surviving without me! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

