31 Day Reset Challenge

Well folks, it’s a new year…I know typically we get caught up on the page of the calendar turning and we magically think that everything will be different once the clock strikes 12:00 AM on January 1 of . Unfortunately, it doesn’t quite happen that way. I have been saying for the past couple of months that I’d like to see a change in my own life, and I finally came across a means to an end to get that done. I believe my dear friend Max sent me the challenge from Rosetta Thurman and her website to do a 31 Day Reset on your life. A lightbulb went off in my head, and I immediately committed to taking the month of January 2011 to do this challenge. If nothing else, it will tell me the positives and negatives in my own life, and I can begin to make concrete, lasting decisions on how to maintain and improve the positives and correct the negatives.

For Day 1, the challenge was to pick a mantra. After not much thought at all (because it jumped out at me so quickly), I decided to make mine the Serenity Prayer. For those of you that may not be familiar, it reads “God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference.” It’s so what I need the most work on in my life because I have a bad habit of overanalyzing everything that comes my way, and spending a lot of energy on things I have no control over. I hope to have a better grasp on that by the end of this challenge.

For Day 2, I had to conduct a life assessment. I’m not going to go into extensive detail here, but the thing that stuck out to me the most was that the things that I don’t particularly like about my life are all able to be changed. Seeing it on paper made me realize that I can take steps to eradicate these negative things out of my life and begin to work more on the positive.

I know this challenge will be one for the books; I hope that something I write here helps someone out…until next time, folks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

