I Wanna Be She…

Unlike a lot of people in my circle of friends, I got introduced to certain amazing music pretty late in the game. It wasn’t until last summer that I was introduced to the amazing, talented, and gifted Eric Roberson. And let me just say that the first time I heard his music, I was completely blown away. Now, I’m not ashamed to admit, it took me a while to buy his album Music Fan First. I don’t know what the hell took me so long to get it, but once I did, I was pleasantly surprised, taken aback, and almost immediately fell in love with the album. As on any album, there is typically one song that stands completely out to me, and becomes my favorite track on the disc. In this case, the song off of his album is “She.”

This song is just…beautiful. I don’t think that there is another word that adequately describes the song. It’s simple, it’s poignant, it’s direct, and it spoke directly to my soul. I’ve known since the first time I heard it that it was a special song to me, but it wasn’t until I was driving home from Baltimore on Friday night that it really resonated with me why the song was so special to me. Mind you, I have listened to this song countless times, have listened and processed the words of the song, and have committed most of the song to memory, but it never really hit me why I was so in love with the song. It dawned on me that I want to be “she.” In every single line of the song, I long to be that woman to someone (who deserves it from me). For the first time in a very long time, I actually think I’m capable of being “she” to someone, which is taking some getting used to on my end. Once I came to that realization, I also noticed that it’s the simplest yet most powerful declaration of love I’ve heard laid over music in a very long time, and I can see myself in every note, melody, and rhythm of the song.

What does this mean to me at this very moment? It’s hard to tell…I know that I do desire something meaningful at this point in life. As I said above, I also recognize that I’m capable of providing support, love, and companionship to someone. I desire someone that likes me, wants to get to know me, and respects and cherishes me, but I know that that process takes time to get to and through. Am I in a particular rush? Not necessarily. I do think it would be nice, and every time I hear this song, I feel a little twinge of hope that it can happen for me some day.

I know I can’t be the only one out here who relates to a song on a deep emotional level. What song is it for you, and how does it make you feel? If this song spoke to you, what did it say? Leave me some thoughts in the comments.

Until next time, folks…

  1. Girl. When I hear Eric Benet’s “Let’s Stay Together” (the version on the Thin Line Between Love and Hate soundtrack) I fall out. I’ve been in love with that song since I was 10 years old.

    I’ve wanted to be the “she” in so many songs from the Eric Benet song I mentioned, to the woman El and Randy are singing about in DeBarge’s “I Like It” to the woman who The Manhattans are singing about in “Shining Star”.

    Your time will come soon, I too feel like I’m “Ready for Love” whenever it coes my way!

    • I don’t think I had heard Eric Benet’s Let’s Stay Together, and can we just say that now that I have heard it, I am IN. LOVE. GIRL! *fans self*

      I do have a slight hope that it comes soon, but if it has to take its time in order to be just right for me, then I’ll gladly wait! 🙂 And “Ready for Love” is my song too!

    • keisha brown
    • April 11th, 2011

    oh man.
    where to even begin.

    music has this funny way of messing with me. when i’m in a melancholy and lonely state of mind, songs that speak directly to that state and my aching need seem to pop up on the playlist. *shakes fist at universe’s irony.

    i dont have one particular song, as it changes based on the circumstances and the person. right now it’s already gone by kelly clarkson. when i really HEARD the words..man..

    in regards to this song/post. i am with you 100%. i feel like i’m ready to be that person for someone, but can’t reconcile why it’s eluding me. maybe i want it too much? but if i wasn’t honest about wanting it, would i ever get it at all? i sigh a thousand sighs not knowing the answer to this never ending cycle.

    great post. since you were the one who put me onto FEx, i trust your music judgement! 🙂

    • I never know the answer to the cycle either…I’m doing my best to trust that God’s got my best interest at heart, and that when it’s supposed to work with someone, it will eventually work. Until then, I’ll just keep pining away with songs like “She”, “I Wanna Know” by FE, and “SoBeautiful” by Musiq in my ear…;-)

    • Starita34
    • April 11th, 2011

    I’ve never heard this song, it’s lovely. The instruments in particular; the xylophone @ 2:15…nice.

    Way too many songs give me that longing feeling…He Is-Heather Headly, Whatever-Jill Scott, Ready For Love-India Arie, Eric Benet-Femininity…

    Enjoyed the post, thanks for introducing me to a new song…and I’m so pleased to hear that you feel like you’re progressing, growth is always exciting 🙂

    • This song stuck out to me from the first time I heard it, and once the video came out? Maaaan…

      And no problem, I love introducing folks to new music — I feel like it’s part of my duty on Earth 🙂 Hopefully this change sticks, and I keep progressing and flourishing into the person that I want to become…

    • sanen85
    • April 11th, 2011

    This kind of brings me back to when Shonnerz wrote a post on how she was ready for love and we all know how that turned out 🙂

      • Starita34
      • April 11th, 2011

      This really made me smize 🙂 #Tyra

    • Hahahaha! If only I were that lucky…;-)

  2. For me, at least right now Miguel’s “Sure Thing” is THAT song. That one song that you put on and it touches you in that little emotional place in your heart. I love the lyrics, and the the melody is smexy and calming. The lyrics do it for me though. It’s such a thoughtful and well written love song. It makes me feel hopeful..

    • That song is great…I think when songs have lyrics that really resonate with me, I tend to throw them in the “this song means the world to me” pile, even if I associate it with someone who doesn’t end up working out with me…and hope is important, Lawd knows sometimes it’s the only thing that keeps me going…

  3. Eric Roberson is the truth. I haven’t heard this album or song (can’t till Lent is over), but my favorite track from him is Just A Dream.

    I know what you mean when you describe how this song makes you feel. I’ve felt that way before but to be honest, I’m not in that place anymore. I want to be that person to someone, but I’ve finally stopped lying to myself and realized that I’m not ready. The single life isn’t for me, but being in a relationship just to be in one isn’t either.

    Songs that put me in this mood? Off the top of my head, Eric Roberson – Just A Dream, India – Ready For Love, NSync – Selfish, Musiq – Settle For My Love, MJ – The Lady In My Life.

    • As soon as Lent is over, you gotta get on it! His album is really great…

      I often wonder if I’ve psyched myself up to think that I’m ready for that level of commitment, compromise, and sacrifice to be in a long-term, meaningful relationship with someone, or if I’m really and truly ready for that…I guess only time can tell to be honest.

      And Settle for my Love and Lady in my Life?! *swoon* 🙂

  4. Hmm, for me that song is “Someone” by Musiq!

  5. Heard this song out in the world last night and I was all like OMG that song I forgot that song little tiny me loved that freaking song..The video though is a little bit more Junior High Time Capsule than I can handle…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

