Sometimes It’s Better To Lose

Even though it’s now May, it feels like January was just here, and we were all doing the ever-so-famous New Year’s Resolutions. Some of us vowed to make better choices, to let some tagalong people go, to save more money, or the ever so popular one: lose weight. Now, if I remember my New Year’s correctly, that was the farthest thing from my mind (mainly because I was too focused on the alcohol and the appetizers and avoiding the police – another story for another day), simply because I didn’t want to make a cliché promise to myself that I knew I couldn’t keep. So, I downed a few more chips, meatballs with dill sauce, and drinks, and kept along my merry “not caring about my weight” way.

That is, until February. I was sitting at my desk, talking to Cheekie, when I realized that I needed to join a gym. I’ve been the same size since about 2005, and that’s two full sizes bigger than I was when I graduated from high school. My eating habits had gotten terrible, and my physical exercise was at an all-time low. I figured that there was no time like the present to take matters into my own hands and do something in order to put my life back in order.

Needless to say, the gym worked…somewhat. Though I recognize and appreciate the value of a good gym, I will be the first to let you know that I get bored very easily with conventional exercise. Getting on the treadmill was cool, burning calories on the elliptical was motivating, and getting on the weight machines was more challenging than I expected, but for the most part, I was doing it alone, and felt pretty unfulfilled. That’s when I got the bright idea to pay attention to my high school classmate Deanna’s Twitter page and eventually went to her website. I registered (and coerced one of my best friends into registering) for the April session, and determined that April was going to be the month I got my act together. I joined a kickball league, an aqua class, and resolved to go to the gym to supplement it.

Can I be honest with you guys for a second? I walked into Deanna’s class that first Tuesday and was PETRIFIED. I thought I was too fat, too out of shape, and too physically weak to actually make it through an hour and fifteen minutes of constant exercise. When was the last time I did that much exercise at once?! High school, that’s when. I just knew that day one, I was going to pass out, see stars, and run away from the class kicking and screaming, begging to never go back.

But I didn’t. I actually made it through! I was sore, tired, and wanted a hug and some juice afterwards, but I made it! And four weeks after the start date, I am still sore, still tired, and still would like a hug and some juice, but I’m noticing drastic and subtle differences. For one, since February when I decided to do something about this weight of mine, I’ve lost 10 pounds. Five of those came between April 3 and April 28 while in My Fitness Boot Camps. Five pounds? In twenty-five days? What? Talk. About. Motivating. I’ve changed my diet (mostly), changed my relationship with food, and I can feel my confidence rising and my self-esteem lifting after every single class I take.

The environment that Deanna has created in class is one of true camaraderie, true support, and most of all, it’s a lot of fun. Yeah, even when I feel like my arms and legs are going to fall off, it’s still one of the best ways I can think to spend time getting myself in shape. Her and her entire team of trainers are extremely helpful, and push me to be successful, work through the pain, and achieve the goals that I want to achieve as it relates to weight loss.

I’m far from where I want to be, yes. But I will never, ever go back to where I used to be. Now that I know that I actually can lose weight, and that I can do some of these exercises I never thought I could…I’m so motivated to actually see this thing through. It’s my goal to be in a size 12 by my birthday, and with the structure of Boot Camp, and the changes I am making outside of the classes that I am taking, I’m certain I’ll get there. My family and friends have been there every step of the way, and I’m so grateful to have them during this journey. Ten down, about thirty to go…and with that said — sometimes, it really is better to be a loser.

Until next time, folks…

  1. I know the struggle. I’ve been gaining weight every year since I graduated from high school. I have a gym membership that I don’t use, and I don’t eat right at all. We have to get it together for our health, what we do in our 20s and 30s sets the standard for our health in our later years! Keep it up!!!

    • You are so correct! I think that’s what I thought about…like I want to have kids one day, and I’d like to not be 250 pounds when I’m pregnant, that’s so not cute. Having people to hold me accountable has really helped, and I find that if I miss working out on a day I’m supposed to, I feel bad about it…thanks lady!

    • keisha brown
    • May 2nd, 2011

    girl. this post.

    i let my work schedule and industry be an excuse for not being able to work out and eat properly. but i had some specific goals (gala and caribana), so decided to finally bite the bullet and get a personal trainer.

    while it’s costlier than the gym, it’s been one of the best investments i could ever make. i get someone to kick me out of bed, i’m doing things properly (reducing injury), it leads me to be more conscious of how and what im eating, i drink more water etc..

    progress is slow, and for the longest time, i wasn’t really seeing my progress. it wasn’t about the numbers (mostly), it’s about a feeling. i wanted to feeel better in my own skin. i wanted to look at myself clothed or not and not turn away in disgust. i wanted to regain the swag/mojo/confidence/self of steam in regards to me and dating back.

    but other people were seeing it for me. co-workers i see every day, and industry/colleagues i dont see everyday. those external markers are great, but i still wasn’t really seeing it.

    then i went into a store to try on some dresses. not a plus-sized store, just a regular store that carries real sizes. and tried on a dress, i probably would have stayed away from months ago. and loved how i looked but more importantly how i FELT in it. that was the sign i needed that all the hard work i’ve put in is going towards something.

    it’s hard, but it’s worth it in the end.
    keep going!
    #cantstopwontstop. lol.

      • Starita34
      • May 2nd, 2011

      You’ll never known what it meant to me to shop in a “regular store”!! And when I was buying L and not XLs, giiiirl, you woulda thought I was a size six with all the confidence dripping off me!

    • GIRL. When I can get into some jeans at H&M, Express, and/or American Eagle…ya’ll will see me dougie’ing down every single aisle of the stores…that’s the day I look forward to, and that’s what keeps me going even when I don’t feel like working out. I find that I am beginning to feel better in my clothes, and feel better about myself in general…it’s been a long time coming, and I know I have a long road ahead of me, but I am so willing to put the effort in to see the final result that I want. You keep up the good work too, hon! 🙂

  2. This is fanstastic! So thrilled for you!

    Still need that hug and juice? Because there’s a Walgreens right across the street from me and the hug… well, I’ll send you a hug-o-gram. Gotta wait ’til July for the real hug. 😉

    Also, love this title! Ya know I’m a sucker for good titles.

    • 🙂 Thanks Cheekie! And yes, I am always in need of a hug and juice…they make the world go round! And please don’t buy me generic juice drink (which you would), I prefer 100% juice, thanks. And awww, you hugged me, you really do like me! 🙂

    • Starita34
    • May 2nd, 2011

    Congrats L! I know this feels so amazing and I’m so proud of you. I’ve fallen off the wagon but this week is a kick start to get back on. I’m starting Zumba, Boot Camp, and Pilates with my girlfriend and after the week is through, I’ll pick one (or at least pick a spot that offers the ones I like) and get into a routine. Routine is big to me, that and someone to work out with or at least be accountable to.

    Way to go lady! Keep up the great work!

    • It does feel amazing! Who knew I was capable of this sort of stuff? I never thought it possible to be honest…but now that I know I can do it, there’s no stopping me until I get where I’m trying to go, even if it takes longer than I’d expect…and yes, routine is important, but be sure to switch it up sometimes, otherwise you might get bored. I want to try Zumba one day, and also work in some pilates and Yoga…:-)

  3. You didn’t even mention how you got into a rack of dresses that are size 12!!!!! You are doing great, Boo!!!! Go Boogie! Go Boogie!!!!

    I shall leave this post and go prepare for the Bootcamp tomorrow. *weeps about impending doom*

    • Owwwwww! *dougies around the room* That 12 almost made me shout in the corner!!

      And you’ll be aight tomorrow…told ya, bring some Gatorade and have some good sneakers on! 🙂

  4. This is great to hear! Even though I have the exact OPPOSITE problem (yes, it’s a problem), I find myself giving the same excuses (too busy/lazy to work out, eat right, take care of my body). The hardest part isn’t starting to make changes to your lifestyle, but making it a habit since the results aren’t usually immediate. Glad you got through the hardest part and are on your way to see some great results.

    Hmmm, might have to do a #SkinnyGuyProblems post now…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

