Living for the Weekend…

Ah, the weekend. It’s the best part of the week if you ask me. Sometimes the work week can be so long and mundane that I’m practically begging for Friday to come back around. On the weekend, I don’t have to get up early (at least not early like I would if I was going to work), I can lounge around in bed if I want, and it gives me time to do the things I really love to do…like writing, taking pictures, and hanging out with my friends. But this past weekend? This past weekend was unlike any other weekend I’ve had in recent memory. It was chock full of things I’ve never done before. Now normally, I wouldn’t be particularly intrigued by me doing random things on the weekend, but this time is different. Things happened this weekend that I swore in a million years would never happen, and I’m still in awe that they actually happened. Well, are you going to tell us what happened?

Glad you asked! For starters, I went thrift store shopping for the first time ever in life. Peebz sent out a Facebook invitation for people to join her at the Unique Thrift Store in Silver Spring, MD, and I figured what the hell? I’ve never done it, I’ve heard that people have gotten great deals on clothes, and I wanted to go do something different. While there, I finally met my Twitter buddy Eric, and me, Peebz, her daughter Tee, and Eric all traipsed around the store, finding random hilarious things along the way, and having a ball roaming around that HUGE store. I had a really fun time thrifting with them, and I got somewhere around 8 pieces of clothing for just about $60. That definitely wasn’t the last time that I plan on doing that, and I now have friends and family members that want me to take them with me the next time that I go find some more things out in Silver Spring.

Although I’ve lived in the DC Metropolitan area my entire life, I don’t take the time that I should to properly explore my city and surrounding areas. Going thrifting on Saturday and taking Peebz back home allowed me to see parts of the city that I haven’t seen in a while, and I really enjoyed the experience. Far too often, I just hit 50 West, head onto New York Avenue, make a right on Florida, end up on U Street, or keep going to Adams Morgan, and I’d forgotten that DC is so much more than that. I saw parts of the city that I had never seen before, and other parts that I hadn’t seen since I was a kid…I’ve got to take some time out this summer to go to the less-traveled, but exceedingly authentic parts of where my family is from.

To round my weekend out, I went to and participated in One Degree From Me’s DC Quarterly Flow Dating event. Now, anyone that knows me knows that I don’t even go to work alone (my mom and I commute in together to save money – stop judging), much less go to a dating event alone, but guess what? I did it! And to top it all off, I had an amazing time doing so. It was so nice to meet different people from all parts of the country that ended up in DC, as well as people that had been here their entire lives. There were people from all different walks of life, from all different professions, and at all different points of their lives with one goal in mind — to have meaningful conversation with other like-minded individuals. I got to meet some very friendly men and women on Saturday evening, and the entire atmosphere was warm, inviting, and pleasant. I was especially proud of myself for actually engaging people in conversation…I love talking to people, but sometimes my introvert starts to show and I end up in the back of the room just taking it all in. I didn’t let that take me over this time. I started conversations with people, maintained ones with others, and ended up with contact information for a couple of guys and a couple of women. I’m sitting here in anticipation of the email that I’m supposed to get with my mutual interests’ contact information in it, but regardless of the outcome of that email, I’m extraordinarily proud of myself for getting out of my own way and doing something I never thought I was capable of doing. It was just the boost I needed to not only become an active participant in my dating life, but to get out there and to try new things and see what life has to offer me. I have to give a special shoutout to Paul Carrick Brunson and his One Degree From Me team for putting on an amazing event, and him for being such a warm and inviting person, and for striking up conversation with everyone that came to him wanting to talk.

Takeaways from the weekend? 1) Try new things – there’s no telling what can happen if you just go out there and do something that you were previously afraid/skeptical of doing. 2) Have some fun – I literally spent all weekend laughing, joking, talking, and with a smile on my face. That doesn’t happen often, but I’m making it my priority to see to it that it happens more often than not now. 3) Get out of your own way – I don’t know how many times I had to tell myself this on Saturday night, but I’m certain that if I didn’t, I wouldn’t have had as much fun as I did. All of these lessons can be applied to my life, and I have faith that they can be applied to the lives of you all reading as well. If you’ve gotten this far in the post (I salute you), let’s talk about what things you think you can do to add some variety back into your life, or some things you’ve always wanted to do, but have always been too afraid to attempt.

Until next time…

  1. So, what I wanna know is…
    Do you think the guy you met on Saturday night has any potential??

    LOL!

    It was so much fun hanging out on Saturday thrifting. Hopefully we’ll do it again soon.

    • LOL I sure hope at least one of them does! I feel pretty good about at least 2…but we’ll see once I get this email lol…and yes, thrifting was so much fun! Thanks for putting it together, and it definitely won’t be the last time for me..:-)

    • Cheekie
    • May 17th, 2011

    These are definitely 3 life lessons that we can all benefit from. This post definitely inspired me to get out there and extend myself far beyond what I’m doing now. It can only be a positive thing for me I’m sure.

    So glad you had fun! And you looked FLY at that event. (From the pic I saw ;))

    • I won’t even begin to sit here and say that it was easy for me to do because it wasn’t…but once I got there, and got into the swing of things, I really enjoyed myself, and it was easier than I thought! Next thing on my list is to go to the movies alone — I think I might shoot for sometime this weekend or next week! 🙂

      And thanks boo, you know I had to go in the back of my closet to get that out…;-)

      • Hahaha, I went to the movies by myself for like the first time a couple of weeks ago. It was great.

        About a month before that I went to IHOP by myself for the first time. Not as great.

        • starita34
        • May 17th, 2011

        I sorta hate doing things by myself, but for whatever reason, the movies alone was wonderful. I guess cause you’re supposed to STFU in movies anyway, lol.

        Eating out alone…not so much fun, but when you sit at the bar and get hit on, it’s not turribo. Also cell phones make this more bearable. I’ve actually dined alone twice and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    • SaneN85
    • May 17th, 2011

    I’m jealous that these kind of events never happen over here. That said, I’m insanely excited for your prospects right now. 3 potentials?!? Ok wait, I’m also jealous of that. Still, *crosses fingers*.

    • You’d be surprised, some might happen like that over there…you could always petition Paul to come to Seattle! 😉 And we don’t know if they’re potentials yet, I have to wait to see the email that is supposed to come by this evening…I know I vibed with them, and only can imagine that they vibed with me as well…

      • starita34
      • May 17th, 2011

      I told her the same things! SOOO many events in DC!
      Boogie is under this pile somewhere –> http://bit.ly/gCvTFF

  2. 1) Try new things
    2) Have some fun
    3) Get out of your own way

    Best set of advice in threes that I’ve seen all week and it’s already Tuesday. Keep us posted on those possibles. :)Nice post.

    • Thanks hon! I need to post them on my wall so that I don’t forget what I need to do to start living outside of the little box I created for myself many moons ago…

  3. Sounds like it was a great weekend! I can definitely relate to always getting in my own way. My introvert-ness comes out when i’m around unfamiliar people. But life is a waste if you’re not living, so I gotta get over that roadblock.

    “I’d forgotten that DC is so much more than that.”

    DC is more than U Street and Adams Morgan? o_O

    Great post!

    • It really was a great weekend! I need more of them in my life…I definitely feel you on being an introvert, I’ll retreat really quickly if I think there are too many people around and I don’t know anybody…luckily the ghost of MsEsquire was on my shoulder telling me I needed to get out there if I was ever going to meet anyone…

      And who knew DC had more parts?! I sure didn’t…;)

      Thanks B!

  4. That Damn African :

    Hahaha, I went to the movies by myself for like the first time a couple of weeks ago. It was great.

    About a month before that I went to IHOP by myself for the first time. Not as great.

    I barely want to go to IHOP in a group, so I know I won’t be going alone lol…I’ve done the Panera and sushi and BWW alone, I need to upgrade to something a little more…crowded, if you will.

    • starita34
    • May 17th, 2011

    I agree with the other commenters, solid advice! And I’m so happy for you that you had a great time and made some connections. Remember this post…it may just be like the one Shonnerz wrote 🙂

    • Thanks Star! I did have an awesome time, and met some really cool people…it’s amazing what the right kind of setting will do. And *raised eyebrow*, wouldn’t that be somethin’ else if it was? Lol…

  5. awwww L im sooo glad you had such a great weekend!! dont you love having a few days packed full of things that are new and exciting and get you out of your comfort zone??? i wish i had those wknds more often!!!

    def agree on your 3 wknd takeaways–all great advice!!! keep living my dear, you’re doing great 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

