Feature Fridays: Summertime (So Hot)

Ah, the smell of burgers and dogs on the grill, the sight of girls in sundresses and sandals and guys in Polos, shorts, and their best pair of kicks, the blazing hot sun burning on the back of your neck…there’s no season like summer, and I’ve always loved it. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always associated some of my happiest memories with summer, and all of those memories involve music. Now that summer has officially hit, I would be remiss not to do a summertime song for this week’s feature. The all-time summertime anthem is now, and forever will be, DJ Jazzy Jeff and Will Smith’s Summertime, but I think this song I’m featuring here will become a close second, at least for me. This week’s Feature Friday is “Summertime (So Hot)” by Eric Roberson featuring Chubb Rock. Now, I had actually heard part of this song maybe about a month and a half ago when Eric did a Ustream that I was able to catch because I was off work, and ever since then, I was hoping I’d be able to hear it again. Lucky for me, Eric decided to release the song for download a couple of weeks ago.

Now that you’ve listened to it, try and tell me that you don’t hear summertime all up and through it! It’s almost as if they peeked into the future and captured the very essence of summertime and laid it on a track. As soon as the beat drops, I’m ready to stop whatever I’m doing and either a) 2 step around the room, b) go to the nearest car wash and clean my car, or c) drive down the highway with the sunroof open and this blasting from my speakers. It’s such a smooth, fun song, and I am absolutely in love with it. It conveys the spirit of summertime perfectly, and a smile can’t help but to spread across my face when I hear it. The song just makes me want to gather some friends, have a cookout, and sit and just enjoy each other from the daylight until dusk (and of course get up and dance with this comes on). I make a lot of playlists for general purposes, but I have to create a Summer 2011 playlist just to add this song to it.

After listening to it, and reading how I feel about it, I hope that you go download the song (it’s free), and that you add it to your cookout playlists. Speaking of summertime tunes, what other songs do you quickly associate with summer? I have an entire arsenal of songs that remind me of my favorite season, but I’ve done enough talking. Leave me some good songs in the comments, and I’ll see you all next week!

  1. Yeah I heard this song when he released it. Great track.

    Summertime tracks:
    EWF – September (ironic, ain’t it?)
    Frankie Beverly & Maze – Before I Let Go
    Foreign Exchange – Take Off The Blues
    Big K.R.I.T. – R4 Theme Song
    Little Brother – Two Step Blues
    Outkast – SpottieOttieDopaliscious

    • Lol, September isn’t ironic…it’s technically still summer. 😉

      I’d have to include these songs in my list:

      Dom Kennedy – Watermelon Sundae
      J Ferb – Watermelon
      SWV – Right Here (Human Nature Remix)
      Ghost Town DJ’s – My Boo
      Queen Pen – Party ain’t a Party
      Maze feat Frankie Beverly – Golden Time of Day
      Commodores – Zoom

      The list goes on and on…but I definitely agree with FE and Before I Let Go…*two steps*

    • Cheekie
    • June 24th, 2011

    Since TDA mentioned it, I’ve been totally obsessed with Big K.R.I.T.’s album! “R4 Theme Song” is my favorite along with “Awwww Sookie Sookie Now.” Great arse-shaking summertime fun music!

    Definitely gonna download this Eric joint. Good look!

    Other joints that I especially love when the sun is shining:

    Maxwell – Ascension
    Jay Z – Big Pimpin’
    Kanye West – Homecoming
    Mumford & Sons – The Cave
    Angie Martinez, Lil Kim, Left Eye, Da Brat & Missy Elliott – Ladies Night (this addition just inspired by YOU, L Boogster!)
    Bell Biv Devoe – Poison
    Sire – I Can Hear The Children Cry

  2. “Aww Sookie Sookie Now” is definitely one of my favorite songs on the tape…and YES for Kanye! I totally forgot to add “We Major” to my list…

    Ladies Night is my jam, though!

    And get all the way out of my face with this Sire song…LAWDT

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

