Feature Fridays: R4 Theme Song

I can’t lie, as I sat down to write this post, I had no idea what song I was going to pick. I scanned through my memory to try and think about what I had listened to this week – what really stood out to me. After pondering for about 2 hours, I was still completely lost as to what to write. Then it hit me…I haven’t written about Big KRIT yet…

How could I forget?! I don’t even remember what made me download his tape Return of 4Eva (I probably saw it in one of Resha’s tweets), but I – like a fool – let it sit on my iTunes and in my iPod for a long time before I ever listened to it. I have a really bad habit of doing that, and I swear I have to get out of it. I miss out on some really solid music (like this tape) when I do. When I finally did…man…it became my go-to tape. I literally like every single song on the tape. Especially “R4 Theme Song.” I mean, a song that the first line is “Refrain from bein’ lame”? How can you not like it?

I swear this video makes me want to be in the studio…

As is probably already known, I’m not the largest follower of rap and hip-hop. Don’t get me wrong, I like it and all, but my lane is more R&B and soul, which is fine. Everyone has their preferences, and I recognize good music when I hear it…and Krit? Good ass music. In the morning on my way to work, I try and hype myself up for a 9 hour day in the office, and now that I have Krit in heavy rotation in my iPod, this is typically the first song I go to. The beat is sick, and when I’m walking down the street to the office, I know that people look at me like I’m crazy when I’m rappin along to the words and walking down the street to the beat…ask me if I care.

It’s been a while since I’ve been hype to have a hip-hop artist put more music out, but I CANNOT WAIT for Krit to drop more music. He’s so talented, and I love him for making me actually want to listen to rap. What say you, my dear readers? Heard of Krit yet? If not, please stop failing at life and go download Return of 4Eva. If you have, do you feel me on this song? Leave your thoughts in the comments. Until next time…

    • Cheekie
    • July 15th, 2011

    YAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSS! THIS IS MY SHAT!

    And yes, “refrain from being lame” is that dopeness. I try to include it in everyday speech because it’s just that dayum smooth. It is the perfect summatime song and the sample (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOxMUZ9avnM which ultimate musichead, PJ hipped me to, it’s a dope song on its own)/beat is craziness. Also, K.R.I.T. has the cutest gatdayum voice. Like in the intro of “Return of 4Eva” when he says, “… baby guhl hold it dahn”… *effing swoons*

    Also, Resha is the cutest with her Krit fandom. That tee she’s currently rockin’ in her avatar is dopensss.

    • keisha brown
    • July 15th, 2011

    well if YOU like it… i probably will…so i shall add to the list!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

